Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

ACF Salutes its Chefs

High school and culinary school students receive scholarships from the Toby Landgraf Foundation.

The 2018 Chef of the Year for the Minneapolis chapter of the American Culinary Federation is someone who “puts his whole heart into the chapter and does an incredible amount of volunteer work,” said Trent Anderson, the 2017 honoree, as he announced that Scott Parks was being recognized with the title for 2018.

The presentation of the Chef of the Year medal to Parks kicked off the chapter’s annual awards dinner, held January 20 at Medina Entertainment Center. As he donned his new chef coat and medal, Parks noted he “looks forward to moving the chapter forward and in an aggressive way,” and continuing to support community efforts such as Kids Café, Survivor Resources and Chef Fest.

Scott Parks, the ACF Minneapolis Chef of the Year, with wife Jennifer.

The evening was part awards show, part four-course dinner, with Anderson, the venue’s executive chef, serving dishes such as a five-spice bao bun with duck bacon and pork belly, and short ribs with lobster salpicon. Student Chef of the Year Emily Pollock created the dessert, a caramel petit gateau of madeleine cake and caramel mousse.  Several more chefs and students were recognized (see sidebar) and outgoing President Chris Dwyer introduced the new board members: President Scott Parks, Vice President John Van House, Treasurer Trent Anderson, Secretary Jason Drysdale and Sgt. at Arms Joe Nagel. 

ACF Minneapolis Chefs Chapter Awards

Scott Parks, Chef of the Year

Emily Pollock, Student Chef of the Year and Steady Eddie Award

John Van House, C.H.E.F. and Most Valuable Chef award

Sara Dooley, Little Oscar Award

John Van House (left) presents the C.H.E.F.F.Y. Award to Jeremiah Lanes.

Robert Velarde, Cut Above Award

Joe Nagel, World of Thanks Award

Patrick Conway, Impact Player Award

Abigail Pohl, Unsung Hero Award 

Jeremiah Lanes, C.H.E.F.F.Y. Award

Pierre Rabbia, Educator of the Year award, St. Paul College

Toby Scholarship Chef Coats
Marco Leon Gil
Mariah Meyer
Jeff Freezy
Teala Anne Mayer
Bailey Florek
Cole Orton
Victoria Gratke
Riley Kennedy
Emily Pollock
Matthew Cupkie
Abigail Pohl

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags