Edit ModuleShow Tags

High School Students Receive Scholarships from Hospitality MN

Scholarship winners and donors at the May 23 luncheon.

Hospitality MN

The Hospitality Minnesota Education Foundation held its annual scholarship luncheon May 23 at the White Bear Country Inn in White Bear Lake. 

Thirty high school students received scholarships sponsored by foodservice companies and in memorials. Also honored were the ProStart Invitational winners, both the culinary and management teams from Sauk Rapids-Rice High School. 

Pasty Keech of Eagan High School was chosen the HTMP Educator of Excellence. Keech has 22 years of teaching experience, and for the past three years she’s excelled as an instructor in the hospitality and tourism management program at Eagan High.

Minnesota ProStart Educator of Excellence was Marilyn Fagerness of North Branch Area High School. Fageress has been teaching family and consumer science since the fall of 1990. Previously she was a full-time sub for the district. 

ProStart is a program of the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation that introduces young people to the foodservice industry through classroom instruction, hands-on work, field trips and mentorships. The competitions are a fun way to challenge their knowledge and skills, in much the same way that school athletic teams do.

Gold sponsors for the Leaders Fund are Cargill, Carlson Family Foundation and Sysco. The silver sponsor is Parasole restaurant group and bronze is Reinhart. 

Edit Module

Add your comment: